


West Virginia Spring Fire Season
Statewide Burning Restrictions


West Virginia spring fire season returns March 1 through May 31.  The West Virginia Division of Forestry has issued the following guidelines:

· Outdoor burning is prohibited during fire season from 7:00 am to 5:00 pm.  If burning has occurred during permitted hours (5:00 pm to 7:00 am), the fire must be completely extinguished by 7:00 am.

· All fires must have a ring or safety strip.

· The safety strip itself must be cleared of burnable material and be at least 10 feet wide.

· Fire must be attended until completely extinguished.

· Only vegetative materials such as leaves, brush, and yard clippings are permitted to be burned.

· Spark-throwing machinery such as power shovels or sawmills operating on land subject to fire must contain and adequate spark arrestor.

· Inflammable waste disposal areas must annually remove all grass, brush, debris, and other inflammable material adjacent to disposal areas to provide adequate protection, preventing the escape of the fire to adjacent lands. 

Any person or company that causes a fire on any grass or forest must reimburse the State for costs to suppress the fire.  Fines for forest fires caused by negligence range from $100 to $1,000 with an additional civil penalty of $200.


For more information to the West Virginia of Forestry’s website at  https://wvforestry.com, or contact the West Virginia Division of Forestry Region 1 at (304) 825-6983. 
